Dr. Elizabeth Rataj, DVM

What is your educational and work background?
I received my Bachelor of Science in Biology degree as well as a minor in Spanish from Elmhurst College. I received my Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign.

Prior to and during vet school, I was a veterinary assistant at a small animal
general practice. I also volunteered at a local animal shelter, and shadowed a
veterinarian at Cosley Zoo in Wheaton, IL.

What made you decide to become a vet?
I have wanted to be a vet for as long as I can remember. My mom told me my first word was “Doggy!”. I always preferred stuffed animals over dolls. My love for science, animals, problem-solving, and working with a team comes into play every day as a vet.

Why did you decide to join the Companion team?
When I first visited Companion, I felt very welcomed by the team. From their up-to-date facility to their family atmosphere, I knew this would be the perfect environment for mentorship where I could continue to grow as a new doctor and thrive.

What is the best thing about being a vet?
The best thing about being a veterinarian is that it is a team effort where a group of people are working together to ensure that your pet is getting the best care possible. As a new vet, I look forward to building relationships with clients and their pets. I also love how no day is ever the same!

What is one of the most common problems you’ve encountered in pets you treat?
Obesity and dental disease.

Do you have any special interests in veterinary medicine?
My interests include dentistry, nutrition, and preventive medicine/ public health.

What is the most unusual pet you have treated?
The most unusual pet I treated was a potbelly pig in vet school. She was very sassy, but also sweet.

What are some of your favorite things to do outside of work?
I love going to my family’s condo in Lake Delavan, WI. I also enjoy going to the gym, going for walks outside, playing with my 5 mo old mini Dachshund puppy, and playing board games with friends and family.

What is your biggest pet peeve?
People who cut in line

Favorite place to eat?
Chili’s or Maggiano’s

Favorite place to visit?
Anywhere with a body of water, I love boating!

Favorite food?

Favorite movie?
The Proposal

Favorite sports team?
My dad is a Sox’s fan, so I am a Sox fan

Name something people would be surprised to know about you.

  1. I love baking sweet treats!
  2. I used to teach kids swim lessons
  3. My favorite animal, aside from a dog, is a penguin

What's Next

  • 1

    Call us or schedule an appointment online.

  • 2

    Meet with a doctor for an initial exam.

  • 3

    Put a plan together for your pet.

Lizzie Photo