Dr. Katie Sweeney, DVM

What is your educational and work background?

I received my bachelor’s degree in biology with a psychology minor at the University of Minnesota Duluth. I received my Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree at the University of Wisconsin.

I worked in a small animal general practice for a few years during the summers of and after my undergraduate training. During veterinary school I worked in the emergency and critical care unit at Wisconsin. I have volunteered at multiple wildlife rehabilitation centers and done relief work in Guatemala.

What made you decide to become a vet?

I have loved animals since I was young and had lots of different animals growing up. Additionally, I believe the human animal bond is an incredible gift and I wanted a career that would ensure that bond is upheld. I always had an interest in science and more importantly advocating for those who cannot speak for themselves. For all these reasons being a veterinarian was the perfect fit for me.

Why did you decide to join the Companion team?

I was very drawn to the family atmosphere and mentorship. As a new graduate, it is comforting to know I will have the support I need to excel in my career.

What is the best thing about being a vet?

Given that I am just starting my veterinary career, I am looking forward to this answer changing over time, but right now I would say the relationships I get to build with clients and being a part of the community I practice in.

What is one of the most common problems you’ve encountered in pets you treat?

Obesity. Obesity in pets causes so many other health issues and is a huge problem in today’s pet population.

Do you have any special interests in vet medicine?

My favorite disciplines so far are soft tissue surgery and dentistry.

What is the most unusual pet you have helped treat?

I helped with a black bear cub once! His paws were huge and he was so cute.

What are some of your favorite activities outside of work?

I like to be outside, playing tennis, boating, and am looking forward to gardening more now that I have a backyard!

What is your biggest pet peeve?

People driving slow in the fast lane on the highway

Favorite place to eat?

Anywhere with good seafood and pasta!

Favorite place to visit?

I love being in my hometown in Northern Wisconsin. I also loved my time in New Zealand and Guatemala, they are both so beautiful!

Favorite food?

Mediterranean or Italian

Favorite movie?

The Harry Potter series

What are your favorite sports teams?

The Milwaukee Bucks, Brewers, and Green Bay Packers

Name 3 things people might be surprised to learn about you:

1. I am learning how to rock climb

2. I don’t have any pets yet. I was trying to be responsible while I was in veterinary school but am looking forward to getting some pets of my own!

3. I grew up on a large farm in Northern Wisconsin where my family raises beef cattle, has a blueberry orchard, a Christmas tree farm, and grows every vegetable you can think of.

What's Next

  • 1

    Call us or schedule an appointment online.

  • 2

    Meet with a doctor for an initial exam.

  • 3

    Put a plan together for your pet.